Review: The Layover – Atlanta (and their belt line!)

Anthony Bourdain The Layover Logo

I have been in Atlanta before (notice I say in and not to).  I ate dinner in the airport on a short layover on my way home.  And that’s it!  I wish I could have seen more, but such is plane travel.

One thing I love about The Layover that you miss out with from other travel shows is the soundbites of people talking about their city.  My all time favorite was the Chicago people from a few weeks ago, but the soundbites from last nights episode were great!

I was especially intrigued by the Atlanta BeltLine.  It is at its simplest a rail line 20+ miles long that circles and connects all of Atlanta, but it is so much more.  They completely revitalized an old train track to add new transport along with hiking/walking/biking trails and many parks and art pieces.  This is something unique to Atlanta (especially in the size of the project!), but kind of reminds me of the High Line in New York.

Overall, this episode made me think, “Justin, you should go to Atlanta”… which is exactly what they want, I guess.  Unfortunately I don’t know how soon I would be able to get there.  The food looks great, especially places like Fat Matt’s Rib Shack!  But one place that I would definitely have to go in Atlanta would be the Martin Luther King Jr Historical Site.  And a happy early MLK Day, next monday!

Have you been to Atlanta?  What was your favorite part?

For a complete list of places featured in the Layover Atlanta, Click Here.

For a video recap of the show, Click Here.

Comments
2 Responses to “Review: The Layover – Atlanta (and their belt line!)”
  1. Hi Justin, I spent a couple of days in Atlanta on business last year. I too would like to visit the Martin Luther King Jr. Historical site and take the CNN tour. I had limited time for sightseeing, but we did enjoy some great food and jazz here:

    http://weirdandcoolstuff.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/red-velvet-cake/

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

