The Long Journey Home

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wasn’t sure if I’d get the chance to blog over the next several days, so now that I have a chance, I am taking it!  I’m on my way home for the holidays, before I go back to school in January.  The only problem is my internship was in Maryland, school is in Kansas, home is in Arizona, and we are spending Christmas in Dallas with family!  That’s almost as much travel in a week that i’ll be doing all of next summer in Europe (distance wise).  So i’m driving from DC to Kansas, flying to Phoenix, and driving with my family to dallas…  needless to say, a whirlwind!

But I wanted to quickly take the time while I’m stopped for some coffee to write about a really cool part of my drive today: Sideling Hill.  As you can see from the pictures above, it is basically a big divot in the middle of the mountain range.  This is the only space really for miles that you can cross this particular set of mountains.

Here’s a good aerial view:

Sideling_Hill_air view

It is amazing to me how human desire to get places is enough to overcome obstacles, even as big as a mountain!  It reminds me a lot of the Chunnel (or more properly known as the Channel Tunnel).  Not even miles and miles of water were enough to defeat mankind’s ego!

Check out the path of the Chunnel, connecting the UK to France:

Course of the Chunnel (Channel Tunnel)

In just a few short months I will have been able to say I’ve ridden the Chunnel.  But until then, I have to worry about getting home… then to texas… then back to Arizona…. then to school in Kansas….  There’s a lot of travel in front of me!

Stay safe over the holidays and while traveling!  You’ll hear from me again soon!

Comments
One Response to “The Long Journey Home”
  1. vyvacious says:

    Be safe while driving with all the weather changes and crazy holiday drivers out there! I hope you have a fantastic break! 🙂 Also, I’m jealous you get to ride in the Chunnel!!

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

