Why You Should Travel Young

Have you ever been thinking about traveling only to take a step back and think, “yeah that’d be nice, but…”  Jeff Goins, author, wrote in an article for Converge Magazine, “This phrase is lethal. It makes it sound like we have the best of intentions, when really we are just too scared to do what we should. It allows us to be cowards while sounding noble.”

I am huge in cultivating desire.  Desire is the biggest factor in making your travel dreams a reality.  Our temptation to not follow through with our plans for travel are often understandable, but as Goins writes, “Most people I know who waited to travel the world never did it. Conversely, plenty of people who waited for grad school or a steady job still did those things after they traveled.”

Traveling can be a defining moment for your life.  Seeing things you have only ever read about or seen on the internet.  Whatever your reason, it is important know why.  Why do you desire to travel?  What do you hope to get out of it?

Goins: “I did this by traveling. Not for the sake of being a tourist, but to discover the beauty of life — to remember that I am not complete… The only way you can relate is by seeing…”

This article is great.  It build desire and prods you to action.  For all you aspiring writers out there, Goins has written a couple books about becoming a writer.

Check out his Amazon Page Here

And please check out the original article from Converge Magazine.  They have many articles on Culture, Entertainment, Travel, and much more.

http://convergemagazine.com/featured/travel-young/

Comments
6 Responses to “Why You Should Travel Young”
  1. Awesome reasoning! Thanks much for sharing.

  2. PragueByKaty says:

    So glad you chose Prague picture for your post 🙂

  3. laurasmess says:

    Just discovered your blog, and subsequently, this article. Aargh, the ‘person who makes excuses’ is me!! My husband and I just got married last year… we’ve been wanting to travel for ages but we’ve always been inhibited by ‘responsibility’, the need to ‘save money’ and maintain a steady job, etc. We’ve taken off to a couple of places but always responded to jobs, college etc and have regretted not travelling further. Now… well, we’re married. Husband just finished college (well, actually he has four days to go, exciting!) and the panic has set in that we need to get outta here before kidlets come along. Sigh… I would love to just take off for an entire year to see the world, possibly run out of money, abandon everything for a good cause, then come back home and rebuild. Darn fear and responsibility.

    In other news, are you gonna visit Australia now that you’ve read my Melbourne post? Or have you already been? I love my country, it’s ridiculously hot Summers, beers, dangerous spiders and sharks. If you do visit, can you please bring me a box of those delicious Cinnabon rolls… I tried one in Hawaii once and… well… heaven in a box. America respects and utilises the wonder of cinnamon like no other country I’ve ever known.

    • HAHA! “America respects and utilises the wonder of cinnamon like no other country I’ve ever known.” Hilarious! I guess I’ve never thought of it like that, but then again growing up we always had a shaker filled with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle on things like cookies and (especially) buttered toast!

      But I would love to go to Australia! I don’t know how soon down the line that will be… right now I am planning a trip to Europe, maybe Australia should be after that! I have always wanted to see things like the great barrier reef, ayers rock (or Uluru? i think its called), and i’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about Sydney, Melbourne, and Perth! Hmm… now you have me wanting to head down to your neck of the woods!

      I have some good friends back at school that are getting married in December and last I checked they were planning on honeymooning in Australia. So i will get to live vicariously (for a short bit) through them.

      • laurasmess says:

        Haha, yep it’s called ‘Uluru’ now… most of the European names for Australian landmarks are gradually being replaced by more ‘traditional’ Aboriginal names. I’ve driven past it but strangely enough, I’ve never ventured towards it. By the way, if you do eventually do a driving holiday here, the central Aussie roadhouses serve terrible coffee. And terrible food. Bring your shaker of cinnamon sugar.

        Have an awesome time in Europe and I look forward to reading more of your pending adventures. Hope your mates have a great time Down Under… enjoy your vicarious honeymoon (I should probably revise those words, that sounds weird)

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

