Day Dream Fridays: Machu Picchu – Top 5 Reasons to go to Machu Picchu

For all Day Dream Destinations, check out the Day Dream Fridays Page!

Machu Picchu is on the top of my “list of all time places that I want to go before I die.”  In fact, the only reason I am planning my trip to Europe instead of to Machu Picchu is because, although Machu Picchu is #1, Europe occupies literally every other spot on my list!

I can’t quite quantify why I am so drawn to Machu Picchu… but I’ll try!  Here are my Top 5 Reasons I want to go to Machu Picchu:

  1. The Mystery.  Most people know that Machu Picchu was built by the Incas in Peru hundreds of years ago.  But what people don’t usually know is that Machu Picchu wasn’t “officially” found until the early 1900s.  Obviously the indigenous peoples knew of it, and I believe that they are who led Hiram Bingham to the city.  Finding something untouched like this would be an explorers dream!  On top of that, no one knows why exactly the Incas abandoned Machu Picchu. Speculations abound about small pox… but there is no evidence that Machu Picchu was touched by explorers until Bingham in 1911, making a violent take over extremely unlikely.  Machu Picchu was just abandoned.
  2. The View. Just look at that.  I am sure that the picture doesn’t hold a candle to the real thing.  I could browse pictures of Macchu Picchu all day!
  3. The Inca Trail. One the most popular, but more difficult, ways to get to Machu Picchu.  The hike is well over 50 miles in length winding through the Andes mountains.  Some people take the bus up to Machu Picchu, but those in the know hike it!
  4. Patallacta.  Machu Picchu aren’t the only ruins from the Incas.  One of the main sites you pass on the trail is Patallacta.
  5. To Be Indiana Jones. It’s every kids dream: cutting your way through a forest, exploring ancient ruins, and crossing deadly ancient rope bridges hoping that it doesn’t break under the weight of your steps. Oh the adventure!

What tops your places to go list?

Comments
2 Responses to “Day Dream Fridays: Machu Picchu – Top 5 Reasons to go to Machu Picchu”
  1. Bri-Tri says:

    My wife and I did Inca Trail and Machu Picchu last year and it was incredible! Inca Trail is a tough hike, but so worth it. I actually preferred the 4 days on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Many cool ruins along the way. Machu Picchu was very crowded the day we got there and that was a bit of a turn off for me. Very incredible place though despite that. Here are some photos from our trip…
    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2112966030912.2132348.1448500666&type=1&l=57ff783fff
    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2145044792861.2134102.1448500666&type=1&l=f07055810e

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

