Practice Traveling in Your Own Back Yard

As some of you may know, I have been spending the summer (and will be spending the rest of the year) in the Washington DC area.  Being from Arizona, I haven’t spent a lot of time on the East Coast until now.  So I have wanted to do a series on this topic for a while: Traveling in your own backyard.  I know that I often take advantage of where I am living and don’t go out and try new things, go to new places, and see sights that others travel from all over to see.  This series will be about my adventures around DC and will have a new adventure at least once a week (trust me, my weeks have been crazy as of late).

So why this series?

Going to Europe next summer is looking like quite the trip and it is going to require a lot of planning and execution.  The best way that I can think of to be prepared, is to practice this on a small scale.  So throughout the rest of this year, I am going to practice my travel skills by traveling around this area of the country and getting experience.

I look forward to sharing some of my experiences in DC and I am sure that Christian, who has been a little MIA but just got back to school in KS, will also have plenty of adventures to share!

Where are your favorite places “in your own back yard?

For anyone who’s been to the DC Area… where are some unusual places you have found?

Let’s talk about it below!

Comments
4 Responses to “Practice Traveling in Your Own Back Yard”
  1. One of my favorite places to travel is Gatlinburg, TN! It is beautiful, in the smokey mt. area. I love D.C. though! You’re going to have a blast.

  2. Bron says:

    I’m doing this the other way around. Now that I’ve travelled so much in Europe and other places I feel that I haven’t done my home Australia justice, so when I get back I’m going to make it a priority to be a tourist in my own country!

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

