Great resource for learning Spanish, German, and French!

I just found this website and it is awesome!  I love it.  Duolingo.com  is a website that teaches you Spanish, German, and English (for spanish speakers).  It also has a beta for French.  I have seen many websites and programs like this and, since I love languages, I usually play around on them for a little bit.  This one kept me on it for hours before I decided to rest.

I took four years of Spanish in high school and so I started with Spanish, partially as a refresher and partially because I wanted to see how in depth the program went.  I tried to skip to the end and failed the test miserably!  This may have more to do with my lack of studying for 3 years than the perfectness of this website, but needless to say, I was impressed.  Usually these type of programs teach you only basic conversation and restaurant spanish (just enough to order in a restaurant) but from what I can tell by the final tiers of the program, it goes in depth well into conditional, subjunctive, and many other tenses that are usually neglected by these type of programs.

I doubt this website will instantly make you fluent in these languages, but I do believe it will help you build a strong foundation!  The best part of it is it is absolutely free!  I think this is a must visit site for anyone interested in learning new languages.  Also, I assume that they will only continue to add languages in the future, seeing as French is in the beta stage.  Hopefully they will continue to add languages because this a great resource. Check it out!

Previous Posts:
Comments
10 Responses to “Great resource for learning Spanish, German, and French!”
  1. awesome! I’m a big fan of Rosetta Stone, but this is freeeee!

  2. Jenny says:

    I’ve started learning German \O/ and you’re right about staying on for hours… it’s kinda fun to go through each lesson with so many variants on how to answer ^^

  3. eleuthereal says:

    I just started with German. I really like this program.

  4. Jacob Coon says:

    Thanks for the link. I took German for 5 years through middle and high school, but will need a major refresher before I live in Germany.

    • I’m glad it could help! I completely understand about the refresher… it’s amazing how quickly your language skill deteriorates when you don’t use it! I really appreciate what you are doing in Europe, too! I wish you the best of luck. I am working at a church plant in the DC area right now and I am graduating from a small christian college in KS in May… but I definitely have a heart for and interest in Europe and am very drawn to their culture and history. I look forward to following your story and seeing what is happening in Germany and with Greater Europe Mission!

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

