The Meaning of Sojourning

Sojourn: (n) a temporary stay; (v) to stay as a temporary resident

Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary defines the theme of our blog as such. However, the word “Sojourning” means so much more than that to me. The thought of sojourning makes me want to learn, discover, admire, love life, live to the fullest. I view my entire time on earth as a sojourn.  Everywhere I go, all the things I do, I want to do with this exploratory mindset as if I am just here for a short time.

I refuse to settle with permanently digging my roots deeper and deeper into the soil and sucking up the rays and resources within reach. The saying “the grass is always greener on the other side” doesn’t apply to me as dissatisfaction with my current state, but rather appreciating the different shades of grass everywhere I go. Okay, now I’ll climb out of my pit of metaphors; it smells funny in there.

I’m serious though. I want to constantly explore, sojourn, the world around me. That doesn’t necessarily have to mean that I won’t settle down physically with a family and a house somewhere, because that’s one of my goals in life. I just want to keep my heart and mind always seeking and never lose that childlike adventuring spirit. Every day, no matter how old I get, I will make “sojourning” my life word.

Sojourning give you freedom. There’s nothing quite like the feeling that the venture you are currently undertaking is just a step leading to your growth as a person. Sojourning is learning, discovering, admiring, loving life, living to the fullest, growing.

What is your sojourn at the moment? It could be reading a good book, teaching your kid to swim, skydiving, trekking a foreign land, or even writing up your own list of goals for life to kick off a whole new series of sojourning! Just remember to enjoy every bit of it and not let the stresses of this life get the best of you.

Live it up!

Comments
14 Responses to “The Meaning of Sojourning”
  1. iaspector says:

    Such a great take on life!

  2. tendersight says:

    Thanks for this article, enjoyed it! We are sojourning at the moment… In Hong Kong, China, Germany… one of us trying to learn Chinese, the other one learning about architecture and at the same time we are trying to set up our photo blog :). Keep in touch!

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more. That’s my goal in life always, and to write about it all, of course. I went backpacking last summer in Europe and am just itching to get back on the road and explore more. Thanks for liking my post about Paris 🙂 It’s nice to know there are kindred spirits out there.

  4. Hello, Thanks for visiting my blog (maedetera.wordpress.com) and liking some of my photos…I have just came back from a 3 month backpacking trip in Europe and will be posting more photos of my trip…im sure you will enjoy traveling in Europe as much as i do….will surely follow your adventures….thanks again.

  5. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your
    post seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

