Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #1 Midnight in Paris

Click links for more information:

12. Wild America

11. Forrest Gump

10. Bourne Trilogy

9. Harry Potter

8. The Lord of the Rings

7. In Bruges

6. Shawshank Redemption

5. Snatch

4. Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz

3. Eurotrip

2. Into the Wild

1. Midnight in Paris

Christian’s thoughts:

When we think of fantastical wonderlands, we think, of course, of children’s imaginations — getting caught up in their favorite storybooks, pretending to be their favorite characters. Little in the creative department is lent to adults.

Midnight in Paris is just that: a grown-up who finds himself in a realm before his time. What I mean by that is that Owen Wilson’s character, Gil, walks about Paris at night while on a business trip with his fiancée and her parents, and at midnight, like clockwork, he suddenly finds himself in the 20s surrounded by his favorite artists of that era. Throughout the film, we are caught in between the assumption that this illusion is a coping mechanism in dealing with the stresses of engagement, and the belief that this different dimension is a real experience Gil goes through. I don’t want to spoil too much, but Gil has this sort of obsession with the 1920s and the destination he arrives at every midnight rejuvenates him in a way nothing else can, so he can’t get enough. It eats him up during the day.

The film leaves you with a message to just enjoy life right where you are, because the time you’re in is going to be someone’s favorite time if not yours. This movie so deserves to be at the top of the list because, for me, it embodies a healthy admiration of the finer things in life, while at the same time is delivered as a certain “Alice in Wonderland” for adults. And if the wonderland is Paris, it only feeds the flame of anticipation of sojourning to it.

Justin’s thoughts:

The music from this film is intoxicating.  I could listen to it all day.  This is the perfect movie for the dreamer.  In fact, this is the movie that started it for both of us.   We had been toying with the idea of planning a trip to Europe, but when we saw this movie, we were jazzed in a way we hadn’t been before!  We have literally not stopped planning, writing, and thinking about Europe since.

If you haven’t seen this movie, it is arguably woody allen’s best movie (as a writer/director).  And, not that it is that difficult, but this is EASILY owen wilson’s best role ever.  He is fantastic in it.  The writing is fantastic.  The lights and sounds are fantastic.  This movie is truly an immersing experience that draws you in and leaves you wanting it to not be over.  After seeing this movie, you will realize that there is only one thing left to do.  And that one thing is to go to Paris.

Has anyone else seen this movie?  Have you fallen in love with a movie in the same way?  Let us know what it was!

Comments
41 Responses to “Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #1 Midnight in Paris”
  1. Nicolette says:

    Woody Allen is wonderful. Though I heard mixed reviews on “To Rome with Love.” I highly recommend Vicky Christina Barcelona!

  2. Bee says:

    I just watched this movie. I’ve been to Paris a few times and will be returning soon and I thought it captured that romantic Paris feel beautifully. The opening shots of Paris… wow, my favorite part.

  3. I haven’t seen it but will check it out. Owen Wilson is in my favorite movie of all time, a travel movie by the name of “The Darjeeling Limited” I love that movie, it is amazing!

    • That one almost made my list! Very good, funny, and intellectually stimulating movie. I love wes anderson! I just am not sure I really understand it… I think it might get its own special post in the future. Especially when I talk about train travel

  4. I was in Paris at least twice while stationed in Germany.
    Once was when Princess Dianna died.

  5. Thank you for your comments on my blog post. I love Paris – you might like these about our experiences in Paris – all true!
    http://emandyves.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/the-cowboy/
    http://emandyves.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/just-a-little-prejudice/

  6. Tamie says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Lovely Blog Award because I love your blog. http://bookishtemptations.com/2012/06/25/the-lovely-blog-award/

  7. Amanda says:

    I completely loved this movie! Paris was already high on my list to visit, this made it priority level.

  8. pintofgoals says:

    I LOVE this movie. I teach American Lit to juniors and showed them the scene when Gil meets the Fitzgeralds (we read The Great Gatsby) and even they were into it.

  9. I don’t know if you ever considered it, but I loved Congo as a kid from a whole travel and adventure aspect. In that regard, I’d also put Entrapment and the Indiana Jones trilogy on the list!

  10. prattrich says:

    Great movie. I have the soundtrack loaded onto my Kindle.

  11. I adore this movie. Especially as a literature person. And an art history person, haha. But if you’re planning a trip to Europe, don’t don’t don’t leave out Italy 🙂

  12. My daughter is taking me to Paris/Spain on Tuesday for my both birthday– I think we can get in a couple movies by then. Thanks for the post!

  13. I’m not crazy about Woody Allen, but he nailed it with Midnight in Paris

  14. I second your thoughts here. This is how I’ve felt about Midnight in Paris since I first watched it, but I struggled to find the words to explain it to friends. Great post!

  15. metrobabel says:

    I watched this movie too. A very dreamy movie about Paris. I also like Paris, Je T’Aime. It’s less romantic and more experimental, but it is a collection of shorts that has one short for each arondissement of Paris.

  16. Staci says:

    Woody Allen likes to put himself in movies — even when he isn’t acting — Owen Wilson did a great job of portraying the thinly-veiled “Woody Allen” character and Marion Cotillard was so stunning it’s no wonder why Gil fell for her.

  17. Christina says:

    So true! We saw Midnight in Paris one night at home, randomly, and it definitely got us really excited for Paris!!

  18. themommylama says:

    Lucky me — I got to watch Midnight In Paris for the first time on my flight to Paris! It was fabulous!

  19. The movie about Erasmus in Barcelona has to be on the list too. forgot the title!

  20. This is one of my favorite movies, and I have the music on my phone and listen to it all the time. I love the message of the movie and in my book, it is one of Woody Allen’s best ever.

  21. Love love love the opening shots, well as all the shots really of Paris. Makes me ache for the place. Also love the actor that played Hemingway. He nailed the cadence of Hem’s mode of speech.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] to bring someone with me, someone who will appreciate your beauty as much as I do. When I watched Midnight in Paris my intense desire to see you again interrupted my light-hearted laughter at Owen Wilson. I cannot […]



Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

