Top Movies to Get Excited for Traveling #2: Into The Wild

Click the links below for more information:

12. Wild America

11. Forrest Gump

10. Bourne Trilogy

9. Harry Potter

8. The Lord of the Rings

7. In Bruges

6. Shawshank Redemption

5. Snatch

4. Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz

3. Eurotrip

2. Into the Wild

This could have easily have been number one….  in fact, I bet someone is looking at the computer wondering, “what could possibly be higher on the list?”  And this protest is not without merit.  Into the Wild is a fantastic movie.  Emile Hirsch gives what is easily his best performance.  This movie is the true story of Christopher McCandless (Hirsch) who graduates from Emory University, as a top student and athlete.  But he feels like nothing he has done means anything.  So, he abandons his possessions, gives his entire $24,000 savings account to charity and hitchhikes to Alaska to live in the wilderness.  Chris’ journey can be summed up in one word… angst.  This is what our trip is all about.  Life is short and if you’re not careful living your own life, you end up living the same life many of people have lived before.  Into the wild is about taking control of your life and your experience.  There will be no spoilers here, so you will have to watch the movie to find out how Chris’ story ends.

Christian and myself are fighting our own angst.  We want to have a journey that we can look back to at any point in out life and say, “remember when…”  Has anyone else felt that angst?   Has anyone else taken that once in a lifetime journey before?  Comment and let us know about it below!  We really want to hear all about it!

Comments
22 Responses to “Top Movies to Get Excited for Traveling #2: Into The Wild”
  1. What about “Alive”, “Castaway”, “Poseidon Adventure”, “Texas Chainsaw Massacre”, “Hostel”, “Final Destination”…

  2. Every trip should be a once in a lifetime trip. Break new ground, find new wonders, new people. For everyone, the closer to home your trip takes you – the harder it is to see wonders and new people. Start with being a traveller, not a tourist. Find guides, research and don’t wast a moment of the trip, just remember to sleep sometimes between wonders. Record – camera, video, journal, ticket stubs, etc. Stick together and no fights – travel is stressful. It will be worth it.

    • Great point! It is very easy for people to go somewhere and sleep on the beach for three weeks. We should really be making the most of every trip we get to take… i think that we sometimes need to even travel in our own cities! It is easy to neglect entire areas of fascinating cultures and sights right in our own back yard, just because it is easier to stick with our usual places and not venture outside the norm.

  3. Franco says:

    Into the Wild maybe not… because he dies!

  4. mariannegv says:

    Hi! Thanks for liking my post “One Way to Rock and Roll…” I loved the movie Into the Wild. I have traveled to different places on my spare time or vacations (some times not completely planed) and it has been great but this movie made me want to quit my job and travel with no specific destiny or time. Maybe one day I will do it.
    Kind greetings,
    Marianne

  5. jillnyhof says:

    I couldn’t agree more! I based my blog (and life, I guess) off of a quote from Chris in a letter he wrote to a friend:

    “The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun. If you want to get more out of life, you must lose your inclination for monotonous security and adopt a helter-skelter style of living that will at first appear to you to be crazy.” – Chris McCandless. Into the Wild, page 57.

    Such a great a book and movie. Venture on, my friend!

  6. tessakerrs says:

    Thankyou 🙂 p.s. Into the Wild is my favorite film at the moment!

  7. Aptalops says:

    Nice idea for a blog post!

  8. Excellent post .l liked the movie review ,Thank you for visiting my site.Wishing you success. Jalal

  9. Great movie, especially Hal Holbrook! An even better book. I so resembled the main character for awhile.

  10. Erica says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog and giving me the chance to check out yours. Looks like we have a lot in common! Look forward to reading more

  11. ZowieTS says:

    Into the Wild has to be one of my favourites and listed as one of the most inspirational films I’ve watched to date. Nevertheless, I do end up bawling my eyes out every time I watch it. It does make me wonder if technology is slowly ruining the ability to experience nature at it’s best, but then its also the main thing supporting those that travel indefinitely (just look at bloggers and freelance web developers etc). I guess you’ve just got to take the good with the bad!

  12. Dea says:

    I’ve read “Into the wild”, it’s so sad….

  13. beebeesworld says:

    Thanks for reading my blog. I will follow your blog and invite you to follow mine as well. best wishes,beebeesworld

  14. Easily my favourite movie ever. So heart warming and thought provoking. Have watched it a few times now and it really does make me want to get more enjoyment out of what is truly important in life and enjoy how lovely it can be rather than the meaningless things that people rank so highly in their lives.. The soundtrack is equally amazing. Great to drive along to .. Xxx

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

