Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #4 Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz

Well,  I apologize for the delay since my last post (about 1 week!)  but I have been having issues with my computer and even now I am writing this post by borrowing a friends!

Here is our list so far:

Click the links below for more information:

12. Wild America

11. Forrest Gump

10. Bourne Trilogy

9. Harry Potter

8. The Lord of the Rings

7. In Bruges

6. Shawshank Redemption

5. Snatch

And our number 4 is… a tie!

4. Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz

These movies are made by a team that includes the stars of both, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.  These movies do a great job of giving you the feel for English comedies.  Shaun of the Dead is an unconventional and satirical take on the zombie movie genre.  The main character, Shaun, tries to fight through hordes of zombies to keep him and his friends safe.  This movie is at the top of my list of zombie movies (right up there with the Evil Dead franchise which is also hilarious, the newer Dawn of the Dead which this movie takes its parody title from, and Dead Snow which is a hilarious Norwegian zombie movie about Nazi zombies).  What I love about this movie is just the dry english comedic style.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about (and haven’t watched monty python) the closest thing that we have in the US is probably The Office.  The Office, however, is also stolen from the English!  If you haven’t see Shaun of the Dead, it is both a legitimate comedy and a legitimate zombie movie.  My favorite part of this movie is when the gang barricades themselves in their favorite pub trying to hide from zombies.  Now, I don’t think I will encounter any zombies when I am in Europe, however I will make sure I know where the nearest pub is so that I can barricade myself and prepare to go down swinging!!!

Hot Fuzz is also a satire.  This team of writer does such a great job of dipping into different genres and creating great movies that also very funny and very well written.  In Hot Fuzz, Simon Pegg’s character is a policeman that is at the top of his game.  In fact, he is so good that he is making the rest of the police officers look bad!  Because of this, he gets transferred to a small town in the English countryside.  This is one of those iconic country towns that every tourist dreams of visiting.  Simon Pegg’s character soon realizes that it is too iconic…  almost like a stepford wives town.  The movie unfolds with Simon Pegg taking down all of the crime which the townspeople are caught up in.  My favorite part is the last ten minutes or so of the movie.  The whole movie is hilarious, however, in the last ten minutes, the movie becomes a nonstop action sequence throughout the small town.  I’m not blowing smoke when I say that the final minutes of this movie are some of the best action sequence I have seen in any movie!  For real.  This movie in particular gets me jazzed for Europe.  This town is what tourists dream of stumbling into (minus the crime/murders)!  I want to spend significant amounts of time visiting small towns in Europe…  and thanks to this movie, I know all of the signs to look for to avoid falling victim to an evil small town!

Maybe these two movies can help you get excited about Europe too…  or maybe not…  But either way, I love these movies!  What about you?  Have you ever seen Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz?

here are the trailers; check ’em out!!!

Comments
10 Responses to “Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #4 Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz”
  1. Just wanted to say thanks for the likes on my blog.

  2. If you find yourself in Oxford – try to get to Chipping Camden, its the village you want. Not sure, but google maps may have street view.

  3. Lissa Rabon says:

    On the Road is a new film that is about travel and adventure…hasn’t come out yet. Almost.

  4. itsallgrooovy says:

    Hot Fuzz is one of my favourite films, I love all the innuendo, and the over the top action sequence at the end! There’s plenty of villages like that in the UK, make sure you head north

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

