Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #5 Snatch

Click the links below for more information:

12. Wild America

11. Forrest Gump

10. Bourne Trilogy

9. Harry Potter

8. The Lord of the Rings

7. In Bruges

6. Shawshank Redemption

5. Snatch

Snatch takes place all over London, in the criminal underworld, and that is about all I can tangibly explain in a single blog post; that, and the fact that two plots, one concerning a stolen 86-carat diamond, and another about an underground boxing syndicate, come together at the end seamlessly. The story is thoroughly chaotic, but Guy Ritchie found a way to make it all tie together and make sense to the audience. It’s just, I’m not Mr. Ritchie, so you’ll have to check out the movie for yourself if you haven’t seen it already in all its hectic splendor.

The film gives us such excitement to sojourn Europe because it provides an ironically stylish view of London and some rough and tough residents of the city. And Brad Pitt’s Irish Gypsy rendition was priceless. I just got lost in the array of different British dialects and ended up wanting one of my own. – Let me take an aside and say how much more intelligent European English sounds than American English. The greatest American scholars either speak like poets or downright nerds, while a brilliant European English speaker doesn’t end up with much of a drastic alteration to their speech. That is all I have to say about that. – Anyway, speech was such an enthralling aspect of Snatch that it helped the writing and acting come together in such a way that it comes to no surprise that it has the cult following is does.

I watched Snatch with no knowledge of its history other than Guy Ritchie’s direction of Sherlock Holmes, which I liked. It made me happy to recognize the similarities in directing styles. Brad Pitt had to have been so well directed to properly portray the comic relief as his gypsy character. Snatch was written so well that the raw action and humor completes the package, making it a movie to excite the sojourner in all of us.

Comments
6 Responses to “Top Movies To Get Excited For Traveling: #5 Snatch”
  1. I LOVE this movie! Sometimes I watch it with subtitles just so I don’t miss a word out of Pitt’s mouth. That pikey dialect can be quite tough for us Americans.

    • I know right? It’s like a game: Guess what the gypsy’s saying! Even though I don’t understand him, it just cracks me up hearing his buds all reiterate a word in unison for an outsider. His “Mah”! Haha Maybe I should use subtitles next time!

  2. Fantastic movie – like How bout some cake – it’s sometimes hard for us Americans to understand and my copy is/was bootlegged so I don’t have the subtitles. I think I need to get on iTunes for my next trip. Thanks for reminding me!

  3. aidaweb101 says:

    Great blog!

    Thanks for liking my blog post!

    Cheers,mate!

  4. I hadn’t thought of Snatch as being a travelicious movie…but now that you mention it, I guess it does reflect the swirl of personalities and cultures (pikey/underworld/innocent etc) that one finds abroad…
    And actually on a walk in the Colombian countryside a couple days ago I passed a couple pigs and remembered Bricktop (did you know that actor’s been a vegetarian for 25 years?) so that’s two votes in favor.

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

