Traveling Playlist

While thinking about every aspect of our Eurotrip, it dawned on me that on top of our thirty plus days to be spent venturing across as much of Europe as possible, we will be on a plane for at least ten hours if we fly out of Sky Harbor in Phoenix, AZ and arrive in London’s Heathrow Airport. What plane ride is complete without the nice musical accompaniment of an mp3 player? So in preparation/anticipation for the trip of a lifetime, I cranked out a playlist of traveling themed songs to get me in the sojourning mood. *The songs are in no significant order.

1. 99 Luftballons – Nena

This 1984 song was written to protest the aggressive nature of war. In the song, two children buy 99 balloons, release them, and military radar picks them up as weapons, leading to an all-out war between East and West Germany. I love the English version covered by Goldfinger, and I knew Nena’s version was a hit in the 80s, so I wanted to include their version in the playlist to get my ears used to some German.

2. Across the Universe – The Beatles

As most of us know, The Beatles are Liverpudlian, so I knew I’d have to throw one of their songs on this playlist. Justin and I won’t necessarily be traveling “Across the Universe,” but neither did the Beatles – physically. I just love the trance the song puts you in, getting you ready for your long, relaxing and/or adventurous journey through Europe.

3. Ces Soirées Là – Yannick

“Oh What A Night” by the Four Seasons was such a hit that French rapper/singer Yannick paid them the compliment of covering it. Fans of musical theatre will appreciate the fact that I learned of this version of the song by listening to the first track of the Jersey Boys soundtrack. The song doesn’t have much to do with travel other than being sung in French; I just really like it and think it deserves a spot on the list.

4. Time to Say Goodbye – Andrea Bocelli

“Time to Say Goodbye” is probably the most popular song by the phenomenal classical Italian artist, Andrea Bocelli, at least in America. The song, being mostly Italian, felt like an appropriate addition to the travel playlist.

5. Come Fly With Me – Frank Sinatra

Who doesn’t love the dark chocolatiness of Sinatra’s voice? Jazz has been making a comeback in popular music with Michael Bublé covering oldies and such. And the title says it all. “Come Fly With Me.” Yes, it’s a romantic song, but there’s nothing wrong with that. Stuck. In. Your. Head. For. Days.

6. Victoria – The Kinks

All I’ve known is the Kooks cover of the song and it is an amazing song. It has great melodies and is about the Victorian era in England. I knew such a happy song with a narration of such a notable time period in England would fit perfectly in this playlist.

7. See the World – The Kooks

The Kooks are from Brighton, England and a make up one of my favorite bands. They don’t have one bad song, but when I was scrolling through their songs, I thought this one had the most relevance to travel, so I added it. I would still suggest you listen to the rest of their music though. It’s great.

8. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant – Billy Joel

Billy Joel is a legend, which is why I felt I had to put one of his songs up here. “Scenes” is a great song, is one of his longest, and includes several movements. Everyone will find something they like in this song. I thought it would be a good addition, of course, because it takes place in an Italian restaurant. I know it’s an American Italian restaurant; don’t be a smart alec.

9. Orinoco Flow – Enya

Enya’s new age sound is so relaxing to listen to and makes for prime easy listening on an airplane, or anywhere for that matter. I remembered the chorus of one of her songs was “Sail away, Sail away, Sail away.” “Orinoco Flow” is the song for sojourning because it represents escape from reality.

10. Scarborough Fair/Canticle – Simon and Garfunkel

Ears naturally enjoy the pureness of this pair’s harmonies. Keeping in the style of my decision making process, I just looked for a Simon and Garfunkel song with a title sounding European. I looked up Scarborough and found out it is in Yorkshire, UK. Perfect. Add.

11. 1901 – Phoenix

Phoenix has amazing, interesting, quirky melodies and their funk is contagious. I knew they were French, so I looked up the meaning behind their songs. 1901 is about their love for their home city, Paris. I was excited to find that out and am happy to add their popular song to the list.

Comments
2 Responses to “Traveling Playlist”
  1. Derick Redway says:

    Andrea Bocelli has definitely have hte best male voice ever, his voice is simply phenomenal and of course both men and women loves him. ;,:*: Yours truly vitamin benefits webpage

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

