Where to begin?

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.Lao-tzu, The Way of Lao-tzu
Chinese philosopher (604 BC – 531 BC)

How do you begin a journey? Although we tend to be easily overwhelmed by the tasks we face, there is only one place a journey can begin: Passion.

Without a passion for the trip you want to take, it is likely never going to happen. I took a trip over the east coast with stops in Chicago, Toronto, Niagra Falls, Boston, NY, Philly, DC, and Nashville, over the course of nine days. I wouldn’t have ever made it if I didn’t have a passion to go to these cities I had never been to before.
But what do we do with that passion? we dream.
And here’s my advice… DREAM BIG!

We have enough people telling us how insane our ideas are and not nearly enough telling us that we can dream bigger. Here’s the secret, you can always do less… it’s much harder to plan more as an after thought.
So think up some big dreams. They don’t have to be ridiculous things like climbing k-2 (unless that is the trip you’ve been dreaming of!), but just things that you really want to do, even if you don’t know at this point in your planning if it is even a possibility.
For the Europe 2013 trip, here are a few of my big dreams:
1. I want to visit at least 13 countries.
2. I want to walk the streets of Paris in the rain.
3. I want to go see an English band playing in a pub.
4. I want to visit a friend in Hungary.
5. I want to go to a wine tasting in Italy.
6. I want to see the colosseum.
7. I want to ride a gondola in Venice.
8. I want to go to Athens.
9. I want to see the mona lisa.
10. I want to see the leaning tower of Pisa.
You might be looking at this list and thinking, “I could never do something like that” or maybe you’re thinking “wow, Justin is a small dreamer!” … Either way, what are you’re dream trips?
Is there a trip that you have always wanted to take? Are there plans you’ve always promised yourself you’d keep, but haven’t?
Share with me some of you’re ideas or plans.
Comments
2 Responses to “Where to begin?”
  1. apgaignard says:

    I read a book Buddha is as Buddha Does and came across that quote. It was very inspirational to me. I am currently a student studying Hospitality and Tourism Management in Canada and my dream is to travel around the world once I graduate! Your Europe trip plans sound amazing and I will be following up on your posts!

Leave a Reply

  • Vacation, Travel & Adventure Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Archives

  • Categories

